It’s the People…

21Aug08

Yesterday I talked about cows and people. The biggest draw for many folks to an MMO environment is the other people running around with similar goals.

My very first experience of the power of an MMO type of environment was in an AOL chat room many many years ago. It was back when AOL sent tons of their disks out, letting you have a few hours for free. I discovered chat rooms as I was writing a book about the Internet more than 10 years ago. I knew myself well enough, saving the chapter on chatting until the very last, as I was afraid I’d spend the most “research” time chatting *huge grins*.

Oh. My. Gosh. I was so hooked. I found some chat rooms on AOL that had musical trivia! I would spend hours there. This was in the days of dial-up connections using a 1200 baud modem.

I loved it!

I later found some home schooling parents who used a chat client called mIRC to log onto a Dalnet server and talk about home schooling things. This was even better than trivia. We talked about all kinds of things we had in common. It was my first social networking experience and even more powerful than trivia!

Trivia and other word games were my first MMO experiences, as there were large amounts of people all playing and doing the similar things at the same time.

No Responses Yet to “It’s the People…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

