Dreaming at 50…

26Mar09

 

Many years ago, when I was still in high school, I thought about writing. I wasn’t sure what I would write about and I didn’t have a clue how to write fiction even though I loved reading it.

 Due to my interest in role playing in the SW universe, I started reading some of the published fiction. I didn’t want to be inaccurate in the portrayal of my characters. Timothy Zahn has great stuff and my all time favorite author is Aaron Allston. Allston’s stuff can make me laugh out loud at the antics of Wes Jansen and then bring me to tears in the very next chapter. He’s able to evoke my emotions and I read all his books.

A good friend of mine, Halyn, is a fantastic writer. I would venture to say he’s on par with Allston, if not better. People hang on his writings, begging for more. He’s written a lot of fan fiction for the Star Wars universe, including a story about one of my characters.

Halyn has won contests and even edited some of my attempts at writing, one of which also won a contest. He’s just a great, extremely talented young man.

He also let me see some of his world and real life writing processes. I’m a decent proofreader and have been fortunate enough to proof a few of his offerings. I’m going to try to imitate his methods and maybe produce a work of fiction.

Halyn gave me a hope that maybe someday I could write something more. Something people would want to read.

Shadowcall is another dear friend of mine. He is a photojournalist with an incredible, natural talent. He’s encouraging me in my blogging attempts, giving me constructive criticism and feedback. We started our blogs at about the same time and he discovered Twitter and shared it with me. Both arenas are changing my world and perspective on what I can accomplish.

50 isn’t the end, it’s the beginning of seeing my dreams come true…

One Response to “Dreaming at 50…”

  1. Did I arrive at(perhaps “succumb to” is more fitting) Twitter first?
    I remember when cases of those SW were showing up! You read most all of them, yes?


Leave a Reply

