I’m a plopper…

07May10

Started my morning getting caught up. You know, the usual. Reading e-mail, replying. Opening up TweetDeck since it had been closed during the raid last night. Replying to tweets, retweeting some, writing new ones.

One tweet from @ProBlogger really caught my attention: New at ProBlogger: Consider a Series. Seriously. http://goo.gl/fb/lKB8e #writingcontent

Most of my ideas for the past couple years have been series ideas. I get so overwhelmed with the size of the project. Not to mention the fact that I have several series running around my head. None of them too directly related either.

Kinda reminds me of those aptitude tests they make you take in high school. You know the ones where the intent is to help you decide what you want to do when you get out of school? Yep, it was supposed to give you direction. Any category above 75% was an indicator of something you’d enjoy. However anything in the 90th percentile was definitely something you should pursue.  I was looking forward to getting my results back. I eagerly opened the scoring sheet when it  arrived. Quickly scanningfor the longest bars in the bar chart, I blinked. And blinked some more. Everything was above 75%. Not just that, all but ONE was in the 90th percentile or higher. Yeah, really helpful.

My counselor told me it meant I could do anything I wanted to do! Gah! How was that supposed to help me narrow things down?!

So, here I am, 35+/-  years later pretty much settled on what direction I’m going to take with my blog. Except, these other ideas keep popping into my head!

Fortunately for me, Microsoft created a little piece of software that I’m absolutely in love with. I bought the Home and Student version of Office 2007. It came with OneNote. I looked at it, shrugging ‘cause what I really wanted was Outlook. Then I looked again, then once more. I started to get excited!

Photo the paint droplets.

Plopping! Amazing picture. http://www.flickr.com/photos/chavals/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Over the years, I’ve taught hundreds of computer application classes.  One thing I would tell students in most of my classes was that most computer applications were terrific for someone like me. I’m not a linear planner. I have too much going on in my head and I need to get all the ideas out. So, I plop. I plop my ideas in a word processor or spreadsheet or ugh, task list. The great thing is cut and paste allows me to rearrange.

OneNote is so terrific, it allows me to actually plop! Snip a URL here, snag a photo idea there, jot down ideas quickly and even orderly. It’s great for linear planners too, but for those ploppers out there, give it a look.

So, I’m using OneNote to organi… plop out my series and keep track of the other ones. In a week or two you’ll see the fruits of that endeavor. For the next several days, I’ll share with you some of the process. Please share with me in the comments any of your questions, thoughts, or ideas. I’m really getting excited about all this.

Ya just gotta love Twitter…  ((yeah, that *is* were this whole discussion started, kinda))

2 Responses to “I’m a plopper…”

  1. 1 Gloame

    You had me giggling with your word choice. More from me later.

  2. 2 michael

    im glad yo are picking up this blogging again mom you seem to be doing much better. I love you


Leave a Reply

