Boundaries

20Jul10

These days I’m often reminded of a study I heard about once. It dealt with boundaries. The gist of it was little kids on a school playground. When the playground was surrounded by a fence, the children would make full use of the space, right up to and including the fences. However when there were no fences, they tended to stay bunched up and closer to the buildings for security.

I’m feeling like all my boundaries are starting to be lifted right now. I’m so close to selling my house, I can just feel it. Sure in this economy I might have to sell it short, but the burden and boundaries it places upon me will be gone.

It’s so freeing and yet scary at the same time. I can do anything I want to do! Oh my goodness, what is it that I want to do?

I can go anywhere I desire to go! But where would that be? I don’t really want to go back to the town my ex lives in, even though I have a lot of family there. It’s not just that he’s there, but it was a very small town and not really clean. That’s the only way I can describe it. I live in an even smaller town in the Midwest right now, but I’m feeling like I’m very done with small towns. Great place for a single mom to raise three sons because just about everyone knows your business and lets you know about it.  Rotten place for a single woman because just about everyone knows your business and lets everyone else know about it. *huge grins*

I’m smart and intelligent. I almost have my Master’s completed. I have a delightful sense of humor. I get along famously with people of all ages.

So, what is it that I want to do? Maybe it’s time to branch out into a new direction. I don’t have to work with computers. I don’t have to teach people. Even though I’m excellent in both of those areas; I don’t have to go into those fields.

Ugh, so many choices. So many decisions. Decisions I make alone. I don’t have to consider anyone else except me.

*looks around for her boundaries and sees none*

*feels a wee bit scared, yet maybe that’s just the feeling of anticipation and excitement*

3 Responses to “Boundaries”

  1. 1 Michelle Dragoo

    Laura,
    It is so exciting when doors for the future begin to open for us. Embrace it (as you are), and great things will find you and give your life great warmth.
    I look forward to hearing all about it!!!

    Michelle
    (Dizzy)

    • It is exciting. Right now doors are closing, but like the Reverend Mother told Maria in The Sound of Music, when God closes doors, somewhere he opens a window. I need to find that specific window. Right now, all I’m seeing are walls coming down and wide open spaces!

  2. 3 Debbe

    Hi Sister!
    I had very similar feelings after my Mom passed away, and Alex and I were deciding where to move. We talked about all the opportunities and choices, Alex liked Hawaii or Oregon. We ended up back home in the Bay Area – thank the Lord! I reconnected with my friend, Nancy. She is my best friend! We met when Alex was only 9 months old and not sleeping through the night yet. We laugh that if Alex had been born a sweet girl, I never would have needed her as a friend. God will put you where you need to be, have faith in that. I love you!


Leave a Reply

